The first time I watched The X-Files

Eugene Victor Tooms

The first episode of The X-Files that I remember watching was season 1’s ‘Squeeze’. I would have been around 10 or 11 and I couldn’t sleep. Mum was watching TV, and I sat with her to watch a bit. I must have really liked it, because my next X-Files memory is watching the season 2 finale ‘Anasazi’. At the end of the episode Mulder is stuck in a train carriage in the middle of the desert with what appears to be alien bodies, and it is set alight. I couldn’t believe I had to wait until the following year to find out what happened to him.

Growing up I enjoyed the thought that we weren’t alone in the universe. Of course in this series the beings in question were hostile and planning to colonise the Earth, but regardless, the idea that this could be a possibility was exciting. And I felt warmth in the fact that people shared this excitement. Today my thoughts on this have shifted toward a more spiritual existence. I don’t think we’re alone.

I hope they do end up ending the series with a movie that reflects what the show stood for. I enjoyed the last film as a stand-alone supernatural thriller, but in all honesty all it served to do was reignite Mulder’s passion. Perhaps this is a good thing, as it means this won’t need to be addressed if film 3 does go ahead.

One thought on “The first time I watched The X-Files

Leave a Reply

