The first time I had Dippin’ Dots

Dippin' Dots Rainbow Flavored Ice
Dippin’ Dots Rainbow Flavored Ice“. Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons.

I’ve only ever had dippin dots once. It was Easter, 2005 and there was a 3-day music festival being held at Cockatoo Island on Sydney Harbour. My Uni friend Laura, her friend and I went on Good Friday, catching a Ferry from Circular Quay directly to the island.

I remember Laura and I attended a conspiracy theory seminar there, which raised questions about the events of 11 September ‘01. When I was at school I used to purchase a magazine called X Factor which looked at, among other things, conspiracy theories and so this seminar was right up my alley. The festival also housed a giant secondhand cd / record stall, as well as a karaoke room with exercise balls fitted throughout.

The festival was the first time I saw Abby Dobson perform live. She performed some beautiful songs such as ‘Cloudwatching’ which she would not release for another two years. I got to meet her after the show and she was the sweetest person, she even remembered me from an e-mail I had accidentally sent her letting all my friends know that I was changing e-mail addresses (another story in itself).

The Cockatoo Island Festival also housed my first live Australian Hip Hop experience. This came in the form of Aussie hip-hop outfit The Herd (to this day I still don’t understand the difference between a band and an outfit).

The final band we saw that evening were The Waifs, although the room they played in was so packed that my experience of their performance consisted of lots of standing on my tippy toes to get a peek, and an extremely reverberant and almost indistinguishable song playing from the speakers beyond my sight.

There was a dippin dots stand at the festival and curiosity most definitely got the better of me. I was quite pleased, and then disappointed to know that dippin dotsdid not really exist in Australia. The memory of actually eating it is hazy, and I did end up coming across another stall years later on a holiday in Perth, but I was too busy to stop at the time, and then did not have a chance to return.

Another highlight of the Cockatoo Island Festival was Laura’s friend’s woeful rendition of ‘I Wanna Dance with Somebody’ at the karaoke bar, as we sat on exercise balls cringing (and filming on my VGA camera phone).

Leave a Reply

