ALIVE: Celebrating 10 Years of Travel

Man reads Alive

As it happens, I am mid-trip as I celebrate 10 years of travel, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Fourteen years after emigrating to Australia with my family, I had saved my pennies and purchased a return ticket to Santiago, Chile. After a false start two days prior, due to an error by my travel agent, I boarded a flight via Auckland, New Zealand on November 19, 2003. It was during our stopover in Auckland that I took this photo, of a man on my flight reading Alive: The Story of  the Andes Survivors. I remember thinking it quite a bizarre novel to be reading on a flight that would at some stage be flying alongside the Andes range.

My first solo trip across the globe was an incredible experience. I reconnected with my family, and realised how easy it was to save and see the world. I was able to see with my own eyes, the country my parents had loved for so many years and experience a different culture. I’ve been back every three years since 2003, and during each trip I have managed to see a little bit more of the world.

One thought on “ALIVE: Celebrating 10 Years of Travel

Leave a Reply

