I held a sloth & nothing else mattered

I got to hold a sloth

That time I held a sloth in Peru will forever be one of my travel highlights.

It wasn’t even part of our Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure, and when our guide asked us if we wanted to visit an animal refuge his friend ran, I had no idea it would end in a one-on-one with said sloth. I’m not sure if it was due to the glee on my face, but I was one of, if not the first to hold him.

When it finally came time to hand him over, as I did so the sloth turned his head a full 90 degrees to face me. It was kind of like Linda Blair in The Exorcist but replacing the creepiness with pure cutesy. My heart melted a little. I held a monkey too that day, and touched a caiman, but it was my sloth experience that will always stay with me.

One thought on “I held a sloth & nothing else mattered

Leave a Reply

