Ewwww its sounding like a guided tour!!!!!!!!

My friend's reaction in 2007 as I was describing my upcoming China holiday.
My friend’s reaction in 2007 as I was describing my upcoming China holiday.

I had a two-week break from college and a guided tour seemed the most sensible way to see some of a country’s highlights in such a short space of time. I’d been on a guided tour once before in 2006 and it had been a pleasant experience. I made friends, I had someone to whom I could direct my questions, and we had the evenings off to explore the area. As my second and third international holidays, the guided tours served me quite well.

With ten years of travel experience, however, these days I prefer to do my own planning and research. I actually find it to be half the fun! I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I am driven by itinerary and schedule, because my trips have been quite flexible, but I do like a bit of order, and each trip leaves its lessons which I take with me when I plan the next.

I don’t think the idea of a completely unplanned holiday sits quite right for me, so if I had to choose I would definitely go for a schedule-driven holiday, but I do like a bit of flexibility. The kind of flexibility that allows you the opportunity to hold a sloth, learn about another country’s public transport system, and reschedule after you walk the wrong way for hours and never reach the famous church.

Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer.

One thought on “Ewwww its sounding like a guided tour!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

