Winter Reading Challenge

Picnic at Hanging Rock

I’ve been reading a fair bit recently on the Kindle my partner gave me for my birthday last year. Earlier this week I received an invitation to join a winter reading challenge on a Goodreads group I joined, and upon reading the requirements I was quite excited by the idea. It gives me the opportunity to read books that have been sitting on my to-read list for a year or more, and also pushes me to read books I wouldn’t have considered otherwise.

I chose the novel Picnic at Hanging Rock by Joan Lindsay in response to the following:

9. Find a book written by an Aussie author showing a warm, summery cover – this will make you cozy!

I suppose it’s a bit paradoxical, as although the cover itself does suggest warmth and summer, the synopsis itself does not.

I also took the opportunity to choose a book in Spanish, by a Chilean author. I chose this book after several of my cousins responded to my request for a recommendation. It has been a while since I read anything in Spanish. I find it quite tiring as it is not my first language, and I find my eyes glazing over every time I read anything in Spanish that is longer then a couple of sentences. I asked my cousins if they could recommend me something in Spanish, which had a good story and was relatively easy to read.

The three main responses I received were:

  1. Papelucho, a series by Chilean author Marcela Paz which I used to read as a child
  2. Cronica de una Muerte Anunciada by the late Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  3. Mala Onda by Chilean Author Alberto Fuguet

I’ve decided to read option three, simply because my Dad had it on hand and has lent it to me. Part of me wanted to buy the book for my Kindle to make it easier to look up words and phrases, but I’ll see how I go reading the paperback for now.

I’m currently reading the third novella in Stephen King’s Different Seasons collection. The Body, as well as Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption are both novellas which I am reading for the first time and whose film adaptations I love dearly. I have not seen the adaptation of Apt Pupil, but would consider it, though I can’t imagine it could ever occupy the same place in my memory. There is one more novella after The Body. Once I am done I will begin my winter reading challenge.

Winter Reading Challenge

2 thoughts on “Winter Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

