My #SydFilmFest

My Sydney Film Festival 2014 - images thanks to Sydney Film Festival
My Sydney Film Festival 2014 – images thanks to Sydney Film Festival

I spent the last two weeks juggling work with my first proper Sydney Film Festival experience. My highlight was probably getting to see two Xavier Dolan films on the big screen (the incredible Mommy was one of five films ‘fast-tracked’ from Cannes Film Festival to Sydney) but I also enjoyed hearing the festival audience roar with laughter during Dead Snow: Red vs Dead as well as Desiree Akhavan’s witty Appropriate Behaviour, the latter which I watched during my queer film night at the festival alongside Swedish film Something Must Break.

Siddharth was a pleasant surprise, which continually plucked at my heart-strings and provided some beautiful montages.

My participation in the Freak Me Out section of SFF was twofold, first with the Dead Snow: Red vs Dead which was my second film of the festival and Killers, my last film, and a brutal one at that, with many a gasp coming out of the audience. Killers was a last-minute change after I had to pull out of one of my other choices due to another commitment, but it paid off nicely.

I think my Festival film choices were very well-rounded out, and there are a few extra films I have added to my watch list in anticipation of a future cinema/digital release. I really enjoyed immersing myself in the Festival this year, to the point where I would wander over to the Hub for a wine and unwind after a film session.

A special mention to my brief twitter encounter with Mr. Dolan after I questioned whether I had missed any Home Alone references in Mommy.

Leave a Reply

