Stages of travel

I’m happiest when I’m traveling. It’s as simple as that.

Or perhaps it isn’t.

It’s not just traveling that I love, because I also take immense pleasure in the various stages that precede the holiday.

Plane

Researching

Where am I going?

I love the initial stages of the holiday.

Sometimes my trips have been planned around an event, often a wedding. So far three of my international holidays have partly been based around a wedding or anniversary. Adding a specific event early on gives you a bit of an obstacle, but this can actually prove quite exciting, because it forces you to make decisions early on.

My upcoming holiday is based around a friend’s birthday party. We have to be at point X at a specific date, and despite a few frustrations early on, we’ve managed to mould the beginnings of an exciting itinerary.

Booking

Lock it in Eddie.

There comes a point when you have to lock a few things in. Depending on what kind of traveler you are, this may be as limited or exhausting as you like. I fall more into the latter category, at least as far as transport and accommodation go. I’m currently at this stage of my upcoming holiday, though there is a fair bit of overlap with the previous stage.

I’ll admit to getting a bit of a rush when I click “book”.

Waiting

Lip my stockings!

There is often a period of time between when you’ve booked as much as you intend to for the time being, and the holiday itself. You have something to look forward to, and occasionally you find yourself daydreaming about it, but your feet are still somewhat firmly planted in the real world.

During this stage of my Japan trip I tried watching a couple of films set in Japan including Lost in Translation. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I remembered liking it, which was a bit of a shame.

Holiday mode

Three days ’til annual leave!!!

The last few days of work may as well be recreational days. Your brain clocks onto holiday mode and it is almost impossible to get out of it. Everyone who has ever planned a holiday can empathise with you.

The anticipation begins to build.

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Happy Place.”

2 thoughts on “Stages of travel

Leave a Reply

