Araña

Although I have lived in Australia for over sixteen years I am still unable to tell one type of spider from another. As far as I’m concerned they are all potential killers and I’m extremely lucky to have survived so long without a serious encounter.

There have been spiders in my life for as long as I can remember. Growing up I was fond of the 1973 film Charlotte’s Web, which was based on the book by E.B. White (who I only just realised was actually a man, despite my childhood assumptions that he was a woman). Charlotte was a kind, loyal friend to Wilbur the pig and had a gorgeous voice for a spider. In fact, I loved most of the songs in the film. God bless the Sherman brothers for bringing so much to my childhood.

There was Itsy Bitsy Spider who famously survived a downpour. Then little Miss Muffet had her close encounter with an arachnid. I was never into the Spiderman comics or cartoons, although I was aware of the character himself. I suspect it had something to do with my having to learn a new language when I was five years-old.

A little older, and I remember the killer spiders from the film Arachnophobia which, for some reason was listed as a comedy on our Pay TV guide. Besides the big climactic ending, I distinctly remember John Goodman’s exterminator.

And who could ever forget the role Buzz’s spider played in saving Kevin McCallister from Merv in Home Alone? That scream should be up there with the Wilhelm Scream.

A spider even featured in my sole viral video, which I’ve written about previously.

This photo was taken at Cataract Gorge Reserve in Launceston, Tasmania, on the first day of our holiday earlier this year. There is something so special about a spider’s web. If you’ve ever watched a time lapse on Youtube you can truly appreciate the skill involved in such a creation.

Spider's web
Is there something as intricate as a spider’s web?

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Careful.”

3 thoughts on “Araña

  1. I too am in Australia (my whole life) and know nothing about spiders so yes they are all obviously lethal killers lol. I’ve written about a nightmarish experience with a spider before. Getting chills remembering it!!

    1. I just read your spider post, talk about a rude awakening! I must say, I’ve been fairly lucky as far as my spider encounters go.

Leave a Reply

