My Sydney

Since mid-April of last year I have been using an app recommended to me by a friend, who used it during her holidays. It’s called 1 Second Everyday and I’ve been using it to document my day-to-day life for the greater part of a year. Within it you can select 1 second from any video you have filmed on your phone on a specific day, and then compile the seconds into videos of your own choosing. I upload my monthly videos to my personal Facebook account to give my family and friends an idea of what I’ve been up to.

The creators recently released an update to the app with a feature called “freestyle” which allows you to select 1 second from any video you like, in any order. I though it might be a good idea to compile some of the Sydney seconds I have filmed over the past 9 months or so. I hope you enjoy it.

The video features Sydney’s Harbour Bridge (even in the midst of a fireworks extravaganza), ANZAC Bridge (gorgeous!), Centrepoint Tower and the Sydney skyline. I filmed in Darling Harbour, Sydney’s CBD and the inner city, Chinatown, Sydney’s new Barangaroo precinct, and even snuck a second in from western Sydney. I’ve included regular videos, as well as videos from my Hyperlapse and Boomerang apps, both of which I really love.

I can’t stress how much I am enjoying this little challenge. Trying to find a unique second every day can be a bit difficult, especially during a long stretch at work, for example, or on days when you feel uninspired and down. Tomorrow I am working a 12-hour shift, so I am going to try to get my second out of the way earlier during the day.

Feel free to ask me about the images and locations in the video above, and if you have any idea what that white bug crawling down the tree is, please let me know.

5 thoughts on “My Sydney

  1. Any chance of a still of the white bug? 😀 I was sat outdoors with a group of NZ natives recently when someone pointed out a bug on the table that no one knew what it was…I tried googling it based on a vague description and it appeared in google images and I could then identify it. Easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

